PDA

View Full Version : Any advice?

Simba22
June 7th, 2005, 02:55 PM
Okay, see I graduated school last year. But, now I was just e-mailed about speaking at the Graduation on Friday for the people who are graduating this year. My problem is I have always been real bad at giving speeches. Especially when it's in front of a lot of people. I get real nervous that I am going to mess up on a word or something and the whole crowd will laugh at me. Any advice?

unregistered user
June 7th, 2005, 03:30 PM
When in front of others speaking remember that adrenaline is what is making you nervous and sweaty, the best way to get unnervous is thus to release the adrenaline, but not all of it, just enough because adrenaline also keeps a speech lively. Try tensing your muscles while speaking. If you're behind a podium don't lean on it, don't use it as a support unless you really need to. Keep eye contact with your audience. Use your hands and face to give expressions when needed, it helps a speech. Above all else practice, practice, practice way before you do the speech! Practice in front of a friend too, it will get you ready for it. Before you begin make sure that you don't have to use the bathroom, and make sure you're clean =P And last of all, get some water to drink before you speak.

Fear The Paw
June 7th, 2005, 03:30 PM
Thats a though one for me. I was never good at speeches. But small presentations I am good at.

Nephilim
June 7th, 2005, 03:34 PM
Do it drunk. *thumbs up*

Kidding.

Lion King Stu
June 7th, 2005, 03:38 PM
imagine the crowd naked or in there underwear thats what I've heard works :lol:

Aurelian
June 7th, 2005, 03:41 PM
LKS, last time I tried that, there was a ugly fat man in the front row. That made things worse, because I had to talk AND had a very disturbing image in my head.

Try imagining that you are talking to a pride of lions, instead of a human audience.

Nephilim
June 7th, 2005, 03:43 PM
Originally posted by Roquivo